A Darker Shade of Magic

By V.E. Schwab

4 Stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐

There are four London’s, parallel but nothing alike except in name and location. Named with colors they are Red, White, Grey, and Black London. Magic has varying levels of presence in each London. Red is most balanced, White has so much that the world is literally turning colorless, Grey has no useful magic, and Black is overcome and destroyed by magic. These London’s were connected by doors, but have since been locked away from each other and everyone. Except for the Antari and Kell, the last Antari.

Kell runs into trouble, meets Lila from Grey, and must save all the London’s on an epic adventure with her help. Lila just wants to be a male pirate (I don’t think she wants to be actual male per-say but respected and feared like a man.) Her arc is interesting and I would have liked more of why pirates…

What is so fascinating about Kell is his infinity coat, his black colored eye, and his mysterious past that’s hinted at that even Kell knows nothing about. His eye is a physical display of the balance of magic in him as an Antari.

I didn’t know much at all about the plot going into this read. I knew it had good reviews so I gave it a chance. It was really fun. The new parallel worlds and magic system was unique. It opens with Kell and a description of his coat, which I just mentioned being a pretty neat detail. It’s an infinity amount all in one. Turn it inside out one way and it’s black with silver shiney buttons. Turn it inside out then other way and it’s a ratty brown coat. With many other hidden amongst those. It was a fun opening that really intrigued me.

While I did enjoy reading this, there was something unsatisfying about it. I can’t pinpoint what it is, but it left me wanting. Not so much more story, there are two more in the series, I think. More depth to the characters and world might be what I was looking for. It felt a bit light, considering. That’s the best way I can explain it right now. I’m hoping more back story of our main characters is shown in the rest of the series and the world gets more flushed out.

I do recommend this for anyone who likes YA Fantasy. It was fun, for sure.

Published by rsmcjunkins

I'm Rachel. I am an Aries, a Ravenclaw, and ISTP (Introvert, Sensing, Thinking, Perceiving and represents individual's preferences in four dimensions characterizing personality type, according to Jung's and Briggs Myers' theories of personality type.) My favorite genre is fantasy, favorite music is kpop, and color is pink. I have a beautiful baby girl and a loving husband with two fur babies, one cat and one dog. I love spending time in the forest on walking trails along little streams and travelling the globe with my family.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started