Dawnshard Review

by Brandon Sanderson

Dawnshard is the new novella in The Stormlight Archive, occuring 3 months after the events in Oathbringer. It follows along Rysn, a Thaylen merchant we saw before during interludes, and Lopen, the once one-armed Herdazian now Radiant, on their adventure to discover an Oathgate on the mysterious  island Aimia.

I probably wouldn’t do a more thorough description justice so here is the blurb:

WHEN A GHOST SHIP IS DISCOVERED, ITS CREW PRESUMED DEAD AFTER TRYING TO REACH THE STORM-SHROUDED ISLAND AKINAH, NAVANI KHOLIN MUST SEND AN EXPEDITION TO MAKE SURE THE ISLAND HASN’T FALLEN INTO ENEMY HANDS. KNIGHTS RADIANT WHO FLY TOO NEAR FIND THEIR STORMLIGHT SUDDENLY DRAINED, SO THE VOYAGE MUST BE BY SEA.

SHIPOWNER RYSN FTORI LOST THE USE OF HER LEGS BUT GAINED THE COMPANIONSHIP OF CHIRI-CHIRI, A STORMLIGHT-INGESTING WINGED LARKIN, A SPECIES ONCE THOUGHT EXTINCT. NOW RYSN’S PET IS ILL, AND ANY HOPE FOR CHIRI-CHIRI’S RECOVERY CAN BE FOUND ONLY AT THE ANCESTRAL HOME OF THE LARKIN: AKINAH. WITH THE HELP OF LOPEN, THE FORMERLY ONE-ARMED WINDRUNNER, RYSN MUST ACCEPT NAVANI’S QUEST AND SAIL INTO THE PERILOUS STORM FROM WHICH NO ONE HAS RETURNED ALIVE. IF THE CREW CANNOT UNCOVER THE SECRETS OF THE HIDDEN ISLAND CITY BEFORE THE WRATH OF ITS ANCIENT GUARDIANS FALLS UPON THEM, THE FATE OF ROSHAR AND THE ENTIRE COSMERE HANGS IN THE BALANCE.

Dawnshard cover, duh

I read this novella a lot slower than I normally would since I just didn’t have a solid couple hours to knock it out. I’d say I read pretty quickly, but I have a lot of distractions I can’t just tune out (my 8 month old daughter). I read a chapter here and there, mainly in the shower (insert laughing emoji here).

This is not something that is immediately necessary to read before reading Rhythm of War as far as I know. I haven’t really read RoW yet, just the prologue. It does seem like it is going to be much more important later on in any case. Right now it’s just a side quest and character building for Rysn and Lopen who haven’t gotten any big parts before.

The development of these two plus the introduction of Cord, Rock’s daughter, was really well done. Brandon does so much research into everything he does, specifically here with mental health. Rysn is confined to a chair due to immobility of her legs and that is a big deal for her. It would be for anybody to suddenly lose the use of limbs. She has all these insecurities about it and herself. Rysn is constantly reassuring herself and attempting to not keep herself down from it like she had immediately following her accident. It’s a beautiful journey she goes on mentally and physically. Rysn also has to gain the trust and respect of her ship crew. The way it’s written was so rewarding.

Lopen’s journey is a little more subtle. Most of his character change comes towards the end. It’s fascinating to see himself and everything else from his own eyes for once. His humor isn’t for everyone, I never cared for it too much. Lopen is fine in small doses. Dawnshard changed that and made him more likable for me. It was pleasant to see his cousin Huio more, as well. Their relationship is sweet. I don’t know why I always see Lopen as an old man. There is a scene between him and Cord that made me really confused as to his age. Apparently I’m not the only one who sees him as an old man when I looked up his age. According to Coppermind, Brandon says Lopen is in his early 20’s.

I hope we get to see more Cord in Rhythm of War. I know I’m a little behind everyone else who is passionately reading it already. Where we leave her story at the end of Dawnshard, I’m going to assume we don’t see her a lot in RoW. I loved her growing friendship with Rysn. Someone Cord could finally connect with in a language she was comfortable using.

Overall, I loved the novella. It gave us a lot of new content to the cosmere and some side characters and definetly helped pump me up for RoW. I rated it a 5 Stars.


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Published by rsmcjunkins

I'm Rachel. I am an Aries, a Ravenclaw, and ISTP (Introvert, Sensing, Thinking, Perceiving and represents individual's preferences in four dimensions characterizing personality type, according to Jung's and Briggs Myers' theories of personality type.) My favorite genre is fantasy, favorite music is kpop, and color is pink. I have a beautiful baby girl and a loving husband with two fur babies, one cat and one dog. I love spending time in the forest on walking trails along little streams and travelling the globe with my family.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started