The Cask of Amontillado

Being spooky season and only having a week left of October I thought some short stories would do nicely. Edgar Allen Poe is famous for his dark short stories, this one in particular. Also seems fitting that he died in October.

I remember reading this in English class back in high school. Even though it’s short, I didn’t remember much as it’s been so long. It took about 20 minutes to listen to the audiobook.

Simply put the story of Cask of Amontillado is about a revenge murder. The narrator mentions some vague insults as his reasons for this revenge against this nobleman in a jester hat. The narrator leads Fortunato (the fortunate one) to the catacombs under the pretense of tasting some Amontillado wine. Instead he chains him to a wall and bricks him up, thus burying him alive.

I think I would have liked to know what the insults were that justified burying someone alive and not just stabbing him. Poe was alive during the 1800s. It’s always neat to come across stories so old and see what life was like then. A little more of that would be nice. Perhaps if I read more of his stories for that. I do have a large book of his stories that I should get to reading as well. Otherwise, it was a good story.

4 Stars.

Published by rsmcjunkins

I'm Rachel. I am an Aries, a Ravenclaw, and ISTP (Introvert, Sensing, Thinking, Perceiving and represents individual's preferences in four dimensions characterizing personality type, according to Jung's and Briggs Myers' theories of personality type.) My favorite genre is fantasy, favorite music is kpop, and color is pink. I have a beautiful baby girl and a loving husband with two fur babies, one cat and one dog. I love spending time in the forest on walking trails along little streams and travelling the globe with my family.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started